My, that’s a lovely PURPLE rooster you have there…


20130212-190339.jpg

First off, let me say WELCOME to those of you who are visiting for the first time today- I am so excited to welcome some new “followers” to the blog! I promise to try and keep it interesting for you 🙂

Isn’t he a “beaut”? That’s Alastor our (now purple) silkie rooster.  He had quite a run in with Molly, our biggest Buff Orpington hen last week, and frankly I think he’s lucky to be still be crowing.  She’s a bit of a beasty.   When I found him he was bleeding pretty badly from his head and comb, so my husband quickly grabbed some Blu Kote spray and well…now we have a purple rooster.  I’m wondering how long this color will last?  I’ve read that some chicken keepers use a substance called pine tar on injured birds, but I haven’t seen where to buy that yet or know much about it.  From what I have read though, the important thing is to cover the location of injury so that the red blood is not visible to the other chickens in the flock to prevent them from pecking at the injury.  We saw that happen the first time Alastor tangled with Molly shortly after his arrival this fall.  My youngest daughter and I headed out the coop to feed them some salad scraps and found him a with a bleeding gash and the hens all going right after that spot.  I had read about it, but was rather shocked to see how brutal they really were about it!  My 4-year-old was unruffled by it though.  She remembered what I had said about chickens turning cannibal (yes, OF COURSE the kids would remember THAT part about chickens!!!) and started shouting at the hens “DON’T EAT MY DADDY’S CHICKEN YOU CRAZY CHICKENS!!!!!”  She was a big help actually with getting him separated from the hens so we could treat him with blue coat and get everything settled down out there.  Quite a lesson.

20130212-190631.jpg

The last couple of days we’ve had a nice break from all the snow, so were able to get in and clear out their pen area and get them all outside during the days, which I think has helped the situation a lot.  They seem to be calmer and hassling each other a lot less.  I think we’ll all be really happy when spring finally comes this year!

7 responses to “My, that’s a lovely PURPLE rooster you have there…

Leave a Reply

Au Coeur

finding joy in the not-quite-there

Fresh From Home

Entertaining adventures from suburban backyard homesteading

The Radishgirl Thymes™

Simply Living Life

Milking Chickens

Bumbling around, just trying to figure out how to feed ourselves.

popsicle kitty

Just another WordPress.com weblog

From a Montana Front Porch

Pull up a rocker, relax, and enjoy the view.

Happy Hens

Just like real life. But with chickens.

Wovember

Celebrating WOOL for what it is.

oldethymemercantile

Our Roots. Our Tradition. Embrace It.

Farmhouse38

A little bit of farm in the city.

a {modern} christian woman

~ pursuing God's peace, contentment and joy in everyday living ~

Romancing the Bee

Beautiful Beekeeping, English Cottage Gardening, and Cooking with Honey

Aquaponic Family

Our adventure into the fascinating world of aquaponic gardening and self-sufficiency

soilentgreens

organic farm livin'

AGBOOSTER

Career Connections for the Modern Agriculture Industry

amishevy

My crazy adventure changing an Amish Farm

Two Barn Farm

Sustainable Farming, Permaculture, Gardening and Homesteading in Ohio

