Sowing the seeds of my imagination


20130117-190323.jpg

And so it begins. The seed catalogs are arriving and my imagination is whirling with visions of bountiful, well planned, and perfectly weeded gardens…
Sadly, that is never the reality.

Each spring I coax my husband into plowing up a large area of the backyard and helping me to plant packets of seeds and seedlings I have spent weeks sprouting in windowsills. I am always so excited – drawing out maps of what is planted and where, and even keep up with the watering and weeding… for a couple of weeks.

It’s all downhill from there.

Summer arrives, and that means soccer, heat, and bugs. The heat is not my friend and I really hate bugs… A lot. Last year all of our hard work in planting ended up yielding approximately 15 pea pods. Pathetic. The heat was bad, the rain was lacking, I sorta forgot to take care of it… It was a disaster.

I’ve just finished pouring through the new Seed Savers Exchange catalog and selected my picks for this year. Upon showing the list to my husband, he scowls and groans and questions why I would even bother buying seeds and plowing AGAIN?!?!?

But, you see, I have a plan. A plan based on realistic goals and practical designs. I am only going to plant veggies my family is already in the habit of eating and that I can easily can or freeze. I explained that what I NEED is a raised garden bed. A defined area of space separated from the lawn, so the grass won’t take over and kill my enthusiasm along with the veggie plants. Yes indeed, a raised bed is the answer for me!

Now, to his credit, the hubby (still insisting it’s futile) agrees to build ONE raised bed, and likes the idea of buying only the non- GMO seeds sold by Seed Savers. I’ve never had a raised bed garden before, so am busy reading online about building plans and how best to fill it with soil, etc.

Good thing we are still in the deep midst of winter and there is plenty more time for planning.

2 responses to “Sowing the seeds of my imagination

  • From a Montana Front Porch

    We learned after a couple years of gardening that even though something looked like fun to grow, if we weren’t going to eat it then why plant it? I allow myself to grow one thing each year that we haven’t tried before. I mean you never know if you like something unless you try it right?! And then when we do plant it, we plant a minimum, so if it turns out that, no, it’s really not a good food for us, we haven’t wasted a bunch of space on it. I’m excited for your garden this year! I can’t wait to watch how it does!

Leave a Reply

Au Coeur

finding joy in the not-quite-there

Fresh From Home

Entertaining adventures from suburban backyard homesteading

The Radishgirl Thymes™

Simply Living Life

Milking Chickens

Bumbling around, just trying to figure out how to feed ourselves.

popsicle kitty

Just another WordPress.com weblog

From a Montana Front Porch

Pull up a rocker, relax, and enjoy the view.

Happy Hens

Just like real life. But with chickens.

Wovember

Celebrating WOOL for what it is.

oldethymemercantile

Our Roots. Our Tradition. Embrace It.

Farmhouse38

A little bit of farm in the city.

a {modern} christian woman

~ pursuing God's peace, contentment and joy in everyday living ~

Romancing the Bee

Beautiful Beekeeping, English Cottage Gardening, and Cooking with Honey

Aquaponic Family

Our adventure into the fascinating world of aquaponic gardening and self-sufficiency

soilentgreens

organic farm livin'

AGBOOSTER

Career Connections for the Modern Agriculture Industry

amishevy

My crazy adventure changing an Amish Farm

Two Barn Farm

Sustainable Farming, Permaculture, Gardening and Homesteading in Ohio

