Winter Garden


Winter has arrived, at last. I can’t really complain, it’s over a month late and we’ve had reason to celebrate the very  un-wintry weather for the past several weeks. Now we have several inches on the ground, and no end in sight on the forecast, so it seems we had better get used to it.  Time to break out the shovels and sleds, and my first new year’s project: learning to build a plant terrarium.

For Christmas, I received a P. Allen Smith book (http://bit.ly/x8PSuj) on gardening from a coworker, who after listening to my many stories of failed attempts at keeping houseplants alive and the poor, doomed, flower specimens that have met their grisly demise in my hands decided to try and stop the carnage by providing me with some solid, professional gardening advice.  A sweet gesture, but honestly it doesn’t inspire me with much hope…. except for the section on terrariums.

Small, hardy plants in enclosed containers that do not require much watering or care- now THAT I can do!  I started the year off with some internet research, another book on order (http://amzn.to/A71Yus), and a trip to the pet store, and I think I’m ready to give it a try. My sister, a master of antique-barn treasure hunting, found the perfect (meaning very cheap) glass jar with lid, and while at the pet store for gravel and aquarium charcoal I found a supply of terrarium plants.  Who would have thought to look at the pet store for those?? Okay, well I would not have thought it.  Upon scavenging the house I found a sad little baby on a (mostly dead) spider plant and a bud off of a rose cactus that despite my best efforts has somehow managed to survive (persistent, those cacti). Here’s the first attempt at planting:

I’m really excited to learn about terrariums and discover creative ways containers and plant combinations.  Seems like it will be a fun project for the kids as well, and will interesting watching them hunt for containers and “decor” to create their own miniature plant “landscapes”.  Who knows, maybe by the spring I will even learn a thing or two to make my outdoor gardening exploits a bit more successful.

2 responses to “Winter Garden

  • pobept

    I use a recycled 10 gallon aquarium that’s just the right size for 4 basal, 2 rosemary and a few oregano plants. I harvest regularly for my cook pot.
    I replaced the regular aquarium light bulbs with 2 CFC’s. The regular bulbs seemed to over heat the tank.

Leave a Reply

Au Coeur

finding joy in the not-quite-there

Fresh From Home

Entertaining adventures from suburban backyard homesteading

The Radishgirl Thymes™

Simply Living Life

Milking Chickens

Bumbling around, just trying to figure out how to feed ourselves.

popsicle kitty

Just another WordPress.com weblog

From a Montana Front Porch

Pull up a rocker, relax, and enjoy the view.

Happy Hens

Just like real life. But with chickens.

Wovember

Celebrating WOOL for what it is.

oldethymemercantile

Our Roots. Our Tradition. Embrace It.

Farmhouse38

A little bit of farm in the city.

a {modern} christian woman

~ pursuing God's peace, contentment and joy in everyday living ~

Romancing the Bee

Beautiful Beekeeping, English Cottage Gardening, and Cooking with Honey

Aquaponic Family

Our adventure into the fascinating world of aquaponic gardening and self-sufficiency

soilentgreens

organic farm livin'

AGBOOSTER

Career Connections for the Modern Agriculture Industry

amishevy

My crazy adventure changing an Amish Farm

Two Barn Farm

Sustainable Farming, Permaculture, Gardening and Homesteading in Ohio

