DIY Boot Tray


It’s January thaw time here- which means a major mess with boots in my house. For years I have tried to keep up with the sloppy, slushy, muddy mess by stowing wet boots on newspaper, but while in practice it DOES work it is seriously ugly.

Then comes Pinterest and the many river rock boot trays I keep seeing pinned there- genius!!

I made a stop at the dollar store, and am ashamed to admit this but yes, I did buy the rocks there. I KNOW it’s crazy to buy rocks, but in January here it’s not exactly easy to go digging through the snow to find them, so……

I had this really crummy old cookie sheet that I cannot honestly imagine why I haven’t tossed out already because I would certainly not actually bake anything on it! Apprently, I was saving it for just this type of project: a do-it-yourself rock covered boot tray.

It took my daughter and I a little over an hour to cover the tray with hot glue and little pebble-sized rocks. It’s certainly not of the same picture-perfect quality of the Martha variety I have seen on Pinterest, but hey- it’s to hold snowy, wet, muddy boots and keep the mess off my floor. I can live with it :)

This was really so ridiculously easy. I am now on a mission to scrounge in the basements of my parents/inlaws and other relatives to find more less than food friendly cookie sheets to make more of these for other areas of my home. I think the next time I will try to use the larger river rock stones they sell (insert the shame here- yes, I know it’s wasteful to spend $ on rocks…) because they’ll probably be quicker to make and will most likely (I hope) look nicer than this one.

Okay, so here it is. It was a smaller 9×13 size cookie sheet and used bag of the pebbles (and a LOT of hot glue). It is large enough to hold two pair of childrens sized snowboots, and looks pretty darn cute doing it.

20130111-215720.jpg

20130111-215904.jpg

7 responses to “DIY Boot Tray

Leave a Reply

Au Coeur

finding joy in the not-quite-there

Fresh From Home

Entertaining adventures from suburban backyard homesteading

Milking Chickens

Bumbling around, just trying to figure out how to feed ourselves.

popsicle kitty

Just another WordPress.com weblog

From a Montana Front Porch

Pull up a rocker, relax, and enjoy the view.

Happy Hens

Just like real life. But with chickens.

Wovember

Celebrating WOOL for what it is.

oldethymemercantile

Our Roots. Our Tradition. Embrace It.

Farmhouse38

A little bit of farm in the city.

a {modern} christian woman

~ pursuing God's peace, contentment and joy in everyday living ~

Romancing the Bee

Beautiful Beekeeping, English Cottage Gardening, and Cooking with Honey

Aquaponic Family

Our adventure into the fascinating world of aquaponic gardening and self-sufficiency

soilentgreens

organic farm livin'

agbooster

Just another WordPress.com site

amishevy

My crazy adventure changing an Amish Farm

The Soulsby Farm

Sustainable Farming, Permaculture, Gardening and Homesteading in Ohio

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

